Archive for October 4, 2017

Ants in the worm bin

Posted in ants with tags , on October 4, 2017 by marksun

I can explain.  I keep a set of plastic bins to for raising red composting earthworms which consume kitchen vege waste and shredded newspaper.  Today I see ants in it – not nesting there – way too wet, but definitely foraging.  They’re not attacking the worms but feeding ants is definitely not what we want to be doing.

So how to get of the ants?  In the past I’ve put the legs in a water moat, but that causes a mosquito hazard eventually.  Then there’s olive oil, which is messy.  I recently read that diatomous earth provides a barrier to ants and is safe for worms… so I think I want to try that.  Years ago, I used diatomous earth against roaches and other pests and I believe it played a part in the complete eradication of roaches around here.

