Garmin Nuvi 2457

I bought a new GPS, the Garmin Nuvi 2457 — the xyl did not like the old Nuvi, especially after the map update that required so much memory that  it couldn’t hold both Hawaii and the East Coast maps at the same time.  To make a long story short, she persuaded me that getting a new GPS was what she wanted, not some unreliable rehash of the old Nuvi.

So here we are.  Not long ago I had downloaded the Garmin Express application off the garmin site.   As soon as I plugged the new GPS in, Garmin Express woke up, registered the new device, then announced updates were needed.  I have had experience with bad software and bricked hardware before, but decided that if the update failed, I can get my money back from Best Buy. So, we are going with the program- so to speak,  Garmin Express started downloading and updating away and after a considerable time interval, the program announced that the device restart was required, without saying exactly how this was to be accomplished.  I persuaded a reluctant Windows XP (yeah I’m running XP still on this particular computer) to stop the USB device, then I physically unplugged and then plugged in the GPS USB connector.

Garmin Express is now updating the “Full Coverage of North America (2014.20) map.

The outcome … (awaiting the outcome in  – we’re t 60% :2.7MB/s : 9min)… aaandd – it worked.

The 2457 is a bit faster than the old Nuvi

Leave a Reply

